2014 Film Independent Spirit Award Winners

Posted 10 years ago by myetvmedia

The Film Independent Spirit Awards Winners have just been announced flinging the door open for the excitement of 2014 Awards Season. Best Feature nominees included Steve McQueen’s 12 Years a Slave leading with 7 nominations. Alexander Payne’s Nebraska was up for 5 including best first screenplay. Robert Redford’s All Is Lost had 4 nominations including best male lead and best director. Find out the winners of these prestigious award below.


Best Feature WINNER: 12 Years a Slave

All Is Lost

Francis Ha

Inside Llewyn Davis



Best Director WINNER: Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

Shane Carruth, Upstream Color;

J.C. Chandor, All Is Lost

Jeff Nichols, Mud

Alexander Payne, Nebraska


Best Screenplay WINNER: John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine;

Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater Before Midnight;

Nicole Holofcener Enough Said;

Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, The Spectacular Now;


Best First Screenplay WINNER: Bob Nelson, Nebraska;

Lake Bell, In A World;

Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Don Jon;

Jill Soloway, Afternoon Delight;

Michael Starrbury, The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete


Best Female Lead WINNER: Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine;

Julie Delpy, Before Midnight;

Gaby Hoffmann, Crystal Fairy;

Brie Larson, Short Term 12;

Shailene Woodley, The Spectacular Now


Best Male Lead WINNER: Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club;

Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave;

Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis;

Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station;

Robert Redford, All Is Lost


Best Supporting Female WINNER: Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave;

Melonie Diaz, Fruitvale Station;

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine;

Yolonda Ross, Go For Sisters;

June Squibb, Nebraska


Best Supporting Male WINNER: Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club;

Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave;

Will Forte, Nebraska;

James Gandolfini, Enough Said;

Keith Stanfield, Short Term 12


Best Cinematography WINNER: Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years a Slave;

Benoit Debie, Spring Breakers;

Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis;

Frank G. DeMarco, All Is Lost;

Matthias Grunsky, Computer Chess


Best Editing WINNER: Nat Sanders, Short Term 12

Shane Carruth & David Lowery, Upstream Color;

Jem Cohen & Marc Vives, Museum Hours;

Jennifer Lame, Frances Ha;

Cindy Lee, Una Noche;


Best Documentary WINNER: 20 Feet From Stardom, Director/Producer: Morgan Neville, Producers: Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers;

After Tiller, Directors/Producers: Martha Shane & Lana Wilson;

Gideon’s Army ,Diretor/Producer: Dawn Porter, Producer: Julie Goldman;

The Act of Killing, Director/Producer: Joshua Oppenheimer, Producers: Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo,

The Square, Director: Jehane Noujaim, Producer: Karim Amer


Best International Film WINNER: Blue is the Warmest Colour, (France), Director: Abdellatif Kechiche;

A Touch of Sin, (China), Director: Jia Zhang-Ke;

Gloria, (Chile), Director: Sebastián Lelio;

The Great Beauty,(Italy), Director: Paolo Sorrentino;

The Hunt, (Denmark), Director: Thomas Vinterberg



Subscribe to
Our Youtube
Subscribe to
our RSS

ETV Newsletter

Get the latest on the media landscape and the minds that create inspiring, paradigm-shifting ideas. Sign up and stay in the loop.

Follow Us
On Twitter
Visit Our
View Our
Flickr Stream
View Our
Vimeo Stream
View Us On

Advertise with Us